November 11, 2011

  • Top 10 Lists and Google+

    In addition to my usual stuff, I am going to start writing some more very quick, basic, silly top 10 lists. I have certainly done many lists before, but I mean, this new material, it’s… downright generic. Here: Top 10 Weather Phenomena & Top 10 English Language Greetings. Will be fun to see who reads and what sort of response I get.

    ###

    Google+.

    I mean, it’s significant. Google and Facebook are two of the largest, most significant, most life-altering entities on the planet. And Google wanted to hang on Facebook’s turf. So they tried. They sure tried.

    But I agree with this Slate.com article that, basically, says Google+ had a chance to compete but that chance has passed. It is not going to catch on, I am convinced. It is now the wasteland of the hipsters and snobby techies. Two reasons I dislike Google+:

    1) I completely agree with Slate.com on the fact that, when Google initially discouraged brand pages on Google+, that was, quite simply, a dumb decision. It was mind-boggling, for them to think that they could compete with Facebook, yet not allow one of the features that enables Facebook to be a valid media feature (take that phrase however you would like). By the time they did allow (due to the DUH-WHAT’D-YOU-THINK-WOULD-HAPPEN level of inevitable pressure and complaints) the feature, the damage was done. It was too late. Google had shown its hand, and its hand was an outdated, dumb philosophy.

    2) I have, on multiple occasions, requested that someone kindly, plainly explain to me how Google+ can be viably used as a marketing and promotions platform. It has yet to be explained to me. I cannot take it seriously.

Comments (3)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *